Uber pulls down 'share your ETA' hyperlinks that went public

Uber pulls down 'share your ETA' links that went public

Uber has pulled down the searchable database individuals discovered at “journey.uber.com,” which contained particulars of journeys individuals unknowingly made public through the use of the “Share your ETA” function. That is one of many app’s features that sends a hyperlink with all pertinent particulars to chosen contacts. Because it might very helpful, particularly for many who have to journey alone by means of shady places or at night time, the corporate is not yanking it from the app. As an alternative, Uber has determined to tweak the system so that each one hyperlinks get expired after forty eight hours.

ZDNet lately found the “Share your ETA” flaw, which uncovered customers from numerous nations as a result of journeys they’ve taken from way back to 2013. That is why the searchable database included the passengers’ names and actual work/residence addresses, in addition to the driving force’s identify and different knowledge. Bank card numbers have been fortunately not discovered within the combine, nevertheless it was nonetheless a privateness situation all the identical. Uber’s answer, nevertheless, is not bulletproof — anyone with a hyperlink can nonetheless entry it inside two days, in any case — so ensure you solely select contacts you belief implicitly.

Riders can proceed to share their journey hyperlinks publicly, however now they expire after forty eight hours. h/t @mikko

— 4 (@4) September four, 2015

Featured Tales
Sponsored Content material

Examine Your Devices

Uber pulls down 'share your ETA' links that went public

Immediately examine merchandise aspect by aspect and see which one is greatest for you!

Attempt it now →